If you read around on the Internet at a few blog posts here and there or check on some websites on cloud computing and cloud hosting then it can become confusing. Just what do these terms mean? Do they mean the same thing?

The following definition of cloud computing is rather vague. Does it help?

(Source) In its simplest form, cloud computing are virtual servers and applications available to us over the internet.

Wikipedia has its entry on cloud hosting redirected to its discussion on cloud computing. That implies that the two are the same thing.

I don’t think I’d classify them as the same, however. I’ve discussed the difference between cloud hosting and cloud computing in an earlier post. I think that making this distinction is important for clarifying the confusion. If you disagree, I’d like to know. Do you see “cloud computing” and “cloud hosting” as synonymous, or are they different terms that refer to different concepts?

